Broccoli,  I choose you!

kid-with-brocolli

Imagine this. You’re at a buffet table and you see several types of foods displayed. There are donuts, cakes, oranges, bananas, broccoli, celery, cheese and crackers. What do you choose?

If you are used to a SAD diet (Standard American Diet), you probably chose the cake, a few donuts and a wedge of orange. Why?  Because our taste buds are conditioned to want sweets.
So why won’t broccoli be a first choice?
Some people avoid broccoli and other green stuff in general because they are not usually sugary sweet. In fact many assume that green foods do not taste good.  I’ve even heard someone compare broccoli to a miniature tree and eating it seemed absurd.

My love affair with broccoli started when I had the opportunity to enjoy a well made broccoli dish. It was  seasoned with salt and pepper and tender but with a slight crunch. I instantly changed my perception of broccoli and how good it could be.  It also led me to create my own unique broccoli recipes.

Why should you try it?
It’s 100% natural so you don’t have to worry about ingredients you can’t pronounce.  It’s green and you’ve probably heard by now that green foods are good for you. And what’s more, it’s full of cancer fighting compounds.

Not only would I choose the broccoli for the reasons above, I would choose it because I know that my body would feel better after my meal. Foods with added sugar are known to be acidic in nature causing heartburn and inflammation in the body. Broccoli, on the other hand is alkaline.

I’m not prefect and have a sweet tooth sometimes. I will have the ocasional sugary snack. But I always remember to neutralize my body back optimal conditions with alkaline foods like broccoli or my current favorite, green tea. So the next time you come across a buffet table with lots of varieties of foods, ask yourself one question.  Where’s the broccoli?

Leave a Reply

